DePaul Students Act to Protect Academic Freedom on Campus

Who: DePaul Students Supporting Academic Freedom

Why: To reverse President Holtschneider’s decision

When: 11:00 am, Wednesday, June 13, 2007

Where: 55 East Jackson Boulevard, Chicago, IL 60604 Executive Offices of DePaul University (Building on the corner of Jackson & Wabash)

DePaul University recently acted to deny tenure to Professors Norman Finkelstein and Mehrene Larudee. Both professors are widely respected in their areas of study and have consistently amassed positive ratings from their students over the course of their professorial engagements. It is widely believed that the two professors were denied tenure solely based on their political views and specifically as a result of intrusive pressure from pro-Israeli parties including Harvard Law Professor, Alan Dershovitz.

Outraged DePaul students have taken action to defend academic freedom which is under attack at the nation’s largest Catholic institution. After an unsuccessful meeting with DePaul President Fr. Dennis Holtschneider, where their demands were ignored, DePaul students are continuing their sit-in indefinitely at the President’s office.

“This will be an ongoing effort. If you are unable to come tomorrow we encourage you to come throughout the week,” said Bitta Mostofi, one of the organizers. “We ask the community to come and show solidarity with the students who are sitting-in for academic freedom at DePaul by rallying outside of the building.”

On Wednesday, June 13, 2007, the Faculty Council will meet with the University’s Vice President to discuss the option of appeal, which the University has already denied to both professors.

For more information, contact DePaul student Victor Lang. See updated information at Chicago Independent Media Center and

Picket Convened By: DePaul Students Supporting Academic Freedom, Students for Justice for Finkelstein-DePaul, Students for Justice in Palestine-DePaul, UIC Students for Social Justice, and Wright College Students for Peace and Justice; plus community organizations including the American Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee (ADC)-Chicago, American Friends Service Committee (AFSC), Arab American Action Network (AAAN), Chicago Coalition Against War and Racism, Council of Islamic Organizations of Greater Chicago (CIOGC), Council On American-Islamic Relations (CAIR)-Chicago, Palestine Solidarity Group (PSG)-Chicago, and the Southwest Youth Collaborative.

copyright © 2007,