Urge Your Representatives to Co-Sponsor H.R. 450 and Call for a Ceasefire in the Middle East!

Please take a few seconds to act on the following important instructions. Please forward and distribute.

CAIR-Chicago commends the efforts of Congressmen Bobby Rush (D-IL) and Danny Davis (D-IL) for signing on as co-sponsors to House Resolution 450 which called for an immediate ceasefire in the Middle East. Though there was legislation in Congress expressing unconditional support for Israel in the conflict, H.R. 450 calls on President Bush to actively appeal to both sides for a resolution.

The resolution, a heroic effort by the sponsors and co-sponsors calls for the following:

  • “Calling upon the President to appeal to all sides in the current crisis in the Middle East for an immediate cessation of violence…”
  • A commitment from the US to send a diplomatic team to facilitate negotiations between both sides
  • A commitment to send delegations to Israel, Palestine, Lebanon, Iran, Syria, Jordan and Egypt
  • A commitment to support an international peacekeeping mission to southern Lebanon during negotiations

CAIR-Chicago is calling on people of conscience to call their congressional representatives and encourage them to vote YES on H.R. 450 and sign on as co-sponsors of the bill. CAIR-Chicago is also encouraging everyone to call Congressmen Rush and Congressmen Davis to commend them of their heroic efforts to end the violence in the Middle East.

What do you do?! How do you call? It’s easy!

  1. Call your representative’s office and tell him/her that you are a resident of the district. They may ask for your zip code of phone number to verify your residence in the district.
  2. Let the staff member know that you encourage the congressman/woman to sign on as a co-sponsor of H.R. 450. Tell them you would also like the representative to vote YES to H.R. 450.
Congressman Bobby Rush
(current co-sponsor):


Congressman Jesse Jackson Jr.:

Congressman Dan Lipinski:

Congressman Luis Gutierrez:

Congressman Rahm Emmanuel:

Congressman Henry Hyde:

Congressman Danny Davis
(current co-sponsor):


Congresswoman Melissa Bean:

Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky:

Congressman Mark Kirk:

Congressman Jerry Weller:

Congressman Jerry Costello:

Congresswoman Judy Biggert:

Congressman Dennis Hastert:

To find out who your elected representative is, go to: http://www.house.gov and type in your zip code

For more information contact Sadiya Ahmed at gov.relations@cairchicago.org or (312) 212-1520.

Please take a few seconds to act on the important instructions above. Please forward and distribute.